Republicans Westerman, Crawford win re-election in Arkansas’ last two congressional seats

By: - November 8, 2022 10:58 pm

Incumbent U.S. Reps. Bruce Westerman (R-Hot Springs) and Rick Crawford (R-Jonesboro) were both re-elected to Congress on Tuesday.

Westerman defeated Democrat John White and Libertarian Gregory Maxwell in the race for Arkansas’ 4th Congressional District.

The Associated Press called the race for Westerman at 10:44 p.m.

Unofficial returns with 90% of precincts reporting were:

• Westerman 130,242

• White 52,401

• Maxwell 12,088

Westerman was first elected to Congress in 2014.

Crawford defeated Democratic State Rep. Monte Hodges (D-Blytheville) in the race for Arkansas’ 1st Congressional District.

The AP called the race at 10:43 p.m.

Unofficial returns with 72% of precincts reporting were:

Crawford 111,649

Hodges 38,983

Crawford was first elected to Congress in 2010.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Hunter Field
Hunter Field

Hunter Field is a veteran Arkansas journalist whose reporting on the state has carried him from military air strips in northwest Arkansas to soybean fields in the Arkansas delta. He spent the better part of the last decade investigating and reporting on Arkansas government and politics. For three years, he covered education policy, medical marijuana and the Arkansas General Assembly as part of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette’s Capitol Bureau. Most recently, he was the Democrat-Gazette's projects editor, leading the newspaper's investigative team. Hunter got his start in journalism covering sports for The Commercial Appeal in Memphis. A Memphis native, he enjoys smoking barbecue, kayaking and fishing in his free time.